Marianopolis takes ownership of its historic campus

March 25, 2024 – Marianopolis College is proud to announce that it has completed the purchase of its campus at 4873 Westmount Avenue from Les Soeurs de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Marianopolis is now the owner of the property it has called home for nearly two decades.

“This transaction marks an important milestone in the College’s rich history,” said Marisa Giannetti ’84, Chair of the Marianopolis College Board of Governors. “Marianopolis has shaped the academic journeys and careers of tens of thousands of students since it was founded over a century ago by the Congrégation de Notre-Dame. The purchase now helps to secure a home for the advancement of the College’s unique educational mission for future generations.”

The purchase agreement was finalized by the Marianopolis College Board of Governors and the Congrégation de Notre-Dame’s General Council and took effect on March 21, 2024.

“Marianopolis College is one of the Congregation’s major legacies in Montreal, and we fondly pay tribute to all those who contributed to making it a pillar of higher education in Quebec,” said Sister Ona Bessette, General Superior of Les Soeurs de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. “This transition is an eloquent testimony to the quality of the management of the educational institution and its ability to be sustainable, autonomous, and to carry forward the educational vision of Marguerite Bourgeoys.”

Established in 1908 as one of the first institutions of higher education for women in Quebec, Marianopolis became the only private English college offering exclusively pre-university programs within the cegep system in the late 1960s.

The College first occupied the Westmount Avenue campus from 1926 to 1944, later moving to locations at 3647 Peel Street in 1945 and 3880 Côte des Neiges in 1975, before returning to 4873 Westmount Avenue in 2007.

The neoclassical-style building was designed by Jean-Omer Marchand, a prominent Quebec architect whose work includes the Montreal City Hall and former Municipal Courthouse, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec and the Central Block and Peace Tower of the Parliament of Canada.

“In recent years, the College has made considerable investments to enhance the campus infrastructures that are integral to the educational experience that Marianopolis offers its students,” stated Director General Christian Corno, who has worked at the College in different roles over the last 25 years. “Acquiring the property strengthens the College’s future, guaranteeing that it continues its mission and vision of providing the best university preparation as the leading college in Quebec.”

The College will hold a reception to celebrate the purchase of the campus on Monday April 15, 2024.


Marianopolis devient propriétaire de son campus historique

Le 25 mars 2024 – Le Collège Marianopolis est fier d’annoncer l’acquisition de son campus situé au 4873, avenue Westmount, des Sœurs de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Marianopolis est désormais propriétaire de l’immeuble qu’il occupe depuis près de vingt ans.

“Cette transaction marque une étape importante dans la riche histoire du collège”, a déclaré Marisa Giannetti ’84, présidente du conseil d’administration du collège. “Marianopolis a façonné les parcours académiques et les carrières de dizaines de milliers d’étudiants depuis sa fondation, il y a plus d’un siècle, par la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. L’achat de ce bâtiment permet de pérenniser la mission éducative unique du collège pour les générations futures”.

La transaction a été finalisée par le Conseil d’administration du Collège Marianopolis et le Conseil général de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame et est entrée en vigueur le 21 mars 2024.

“Le Collège Marianopolis est l’un des principaux legs de la Congrégation à Montréal et nous rendons hommage à tous ceux et celles qui ont contribué à en faire un pilier de l’enseignement supérieur au Québec “, a déclaré Sœur Ona Bessette, supérieure générale des Sœurs de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. “Cette transition est un témoignage éloquent de la qualité de la gestion de l’institution d’enseignement et de sa capacité à être durable, autonome et à poursuivre la vision éducative de Marguerite Bourgeoys.”

Établi en 1908 comme l’un des premiers établissements d’enseignement supérieur pour femmes au Québec, Marianopolis est devenu à la fin des années 1960 le seul collège privé anglophone offrant exclusivement des programmes préuniversitaires au sein du réseau collégial.

Le collège a d’abord occupé le campus de l’avenue Westmount de 1926 à 1944, puis a déménagé au 3647, rue Peel en 1945 et au 3880, Côte des Neiges en 1975, avant de revenir au 4873, avenue Westmount en 2007.

Le bâtiment de style néoclassique a été conçu par Jean-Omer Marchand, un éminent architecte québécois qui a notamment réalisé l’hôtel de ville de Montréal et l’ancien palais de justice municipal, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec ainsi que l’édifice central et la tour de la Paix du Parlement du Canada.

“Au cours des dernières années, le collège a fait des investissements considérables pour améliorer les infrastructures du campus qui font partie intégrante de l’expérience éducative que Marianopolis offre à ses étudiants”, a déclaré le directeur général Christian Corno, qui a occupé différentes fonctions au sein du collège depuis les 25 dernières années. “L’acquisition de la propriété assure l’avenir du collège, garantissant qu’il poursuivra sa mission et sa vision d’offrir la meilleure préparation aux études universitaires en étant le collège de premier plan au Québec.”

Le collège tiendra une réception pour célébrer l’achat du campus le lundi 15 avril 2024.